Thursday, December 31, 2015

12.31.15

A very disjointed family picture as we ring in the new year. And this concludes my 3rd year of this photo-a-day blog. Will there be a 4th year? You'll have to wait and see!

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

12.29.15

This will become a very familiar view over the next few days...

Monday, December 28, 2015

12.28.15

Enjoying some final morning watersliding before having to check out of the hotel. What a great time we had at our first hotel experience with the Thiessen clan!

Sunday, December 27, 2015

12.27.15

Usually after spending the day Christmas'ing at Les' parents place we all stay for night as some of the family comes in from out of town. This year, however, after the turkey dinner lunch and presents, we moved to a hotel for swimming and pizza. And after our busy day, it's high time to relax and get to bed!

Saturday, December 26, 2015

12.26.15

My Dad putting the finishing touches on the table for our Christmas dinner.

Friday, December 25, 2015

12.25.15

I love the wonder and excitement I still see on my girls' faces on Christmas morning.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

12.24.15

We have never done the Santa thing at our house, but sometimes the girls still like to pretend.  When Les and I came up from watching TV in thr basement tonight, we found a note for Santa from Malia along with a cookie and a glass of egg nog (so Les, of course, played along and ate and drank). It was the cutest thing!

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

12.23.15

After 8 years of being on the Worship & Music committee at my church and being reponsible for the monthly scheduling of Sunday morning services, I submitted my last schedule this evening and have officially ended my responsibilities. It will be so nice to have a break!

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Monday, December 21, 2015

12.21.15

Got a good start on wrapping presents today! The tree looks so much better with the gifts underneath!

Sunday, December 20, 2015

12.20.15

Malia did a great job as Gabriel in the Sunday School Christmas program this morning.

Saturday, December 19, 2015

12.19.15

A little black & white selfie...just because.

Friday, December 18, 2015

12.18.15

I love the smell of flipping through an old piano book.  Playing out of them is pretty sweet too!

Thursday, December 17, 2015

12.17.15

We had a Christmas party for our customers at work today, and look who stopped by!

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

12.16.15

I was going to take a picture of the actual stormy weather today but it just didn't happen. So a snippet of the special weather report is in its place. We have been pretty fortunate this winter so far with mild temperatures and next to no snow...so we knew a snowstorm would eventually hit us.

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

12.15.15

Our newest family picture framed and displayed.

Monday, December 14, 2015

12.14.15

This giraffe is peeking out of her hiding spot in my closet along with many other gifts.  I think I need to get moving on wrapping things before they're stumbled upon!

Sunday, December 13, 2015

Saturday, December 12, 2015

12.12.15

Sometimes being a good auntie means going to watch your niece play hockey. Great game, Sophia!

Friday, December 11, 2015

12.11.15

While the weather this winter has been unbelievably beautiful....I'm still longing for longer daylight hours. In the meantime, however, I'll be grateful we're not dealing with -30 weather and tons of snow as we normally do this time of year.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

12.10.15

Home and ready to go to bed after a Christmas work dinner with Les' co-workers.

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

12.9.15

This is my first year venturing into gift giving for male teachers (I have 3 to buy for). Malia said her teacher loves ties and he mentioned the other day that he only has 1 Christmas tie...so guess what I picked out today?

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Monday, December 7, 2015

Sunday, December 6, 2015

12.6.15

Just doing some bean farming tonight with the fam-jam.

Saturday, December 5, 2015

12.5.15

Today I took my sweet just-turned-8-year-old nephew out for his birthday. I took him to a pet store to look at fish and frogs and snakes, then out for lunch to his favorite restaurant (A&W) and then to a dollar store to pick out some glow in the dark toys. He said his cheeks were bursting with happiness and that his favorite part was spending time with me. I love this kid!

Friday, December 4, 2015

12.4.15

Another one of Joelle's attempt at Master-Chef'ing her dinner plate of chicken tacos and rice.

Thursday, December 3, 2015

12.3.15

Tonight was Joelle's first band concert (and likely her second last as she is not keen on the idea of taking band ever again after this year) and Malia's first concert at the Collegiate (she sang in the junior choir).

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

12.2.15

I finally got a good start on my Christmas shopping today. This lamp is on Joelle's list, but I'm not sure I'm wanting to spend $40 on it. I love the message though!

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

12.1.15

Tonight we put up our Christmas tree. This is the oldest ornament we have. It was given to me by my Grade 3 teacher and it's still one of my favorites!

Monday, November 30, 2015

11.30.15

This picture showed up in my Timehop feed today from 3 years ago and I couldn't resist using it as today's post.  Look at my sweet little cuties!

Sunday, November 29, 2015

11.29.15

This girlie lost another tooth tonight! And good thing too cause I needed a picture for today!

Saturday, November 28, 2015

11.28.15

Guess what happened again today?  This time there was also a video too!

Friday, November 27, 2015

11.27.15

It was just me and my little miss home this evening so we had a fun one-on-one evening of cookie baking.  Malia helped with everything....mixing the batter, rolling it out,  cutting out the circles, taking them in and out of the oven and of course jamming them (we made Jam Jams). She had a great time and I realized how little time we spend together,  just the two of us.

Thursday, November 26, 2015

11.26.15

Imagine getting to fall asleep next to this face every night.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

11.25.15

This girl likes her games. And special parent attention on evenings when her big sister is at youth.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

11.24.15

Another photo credit to Joelle. While Les and I went on a date night (a quick food court supper followed by The Mockingjay Part 2 movie) the girls stayed home alone (LOVE having a 12 year old) and played games and watched a movie on their own.

Monday, November 23, 2015

11.23.15

Seeing this show up in my Timehop feed reminds me that I am behind in my Christmas baking...and all things Christmas related.

Sunday, November 22, 2015

11.22.15

Today was the day we put up our Christmas lights. This is another one of Joelle's pictures that I'm using since it's just so much better than the ones I took!

Saturday, November 21, 2015

11.21.15

My Christmas deadline for crocheted orders is one week away. I'm thankful I have a hobby that I enjoy that can also make my family some extra "fun" money.

Friday, November 20, 2015

11.20.15

After a long and not so great week [consisting of a (short-lived) relapse of my back injury, a day of stuck-on-the-couch dizziness, a sick daughter, the start of winter weather, my own issues of not feeling well and extreme exhaustion], this was the perfect evening to chill on the couch and watch Netflix with the girls. Sister Act was on tap!

Thursday, November 19, 2015

11.19.15

A slightly different view this morning than what we were uses to. We are certainly fortunate that it took this long. [Photo taken from Joelle's instagram page]

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

11.18.15

Today we were forced to say goodbye to our extended fall (and the sight of our grass). It was a good run, but we all knew it would end eventually. Malia had to kiss the grass goodbye before the forecasted storm hit.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

11.17.15

Sometimes, being a Mom means sleeping in your daughter's room when she's just not feeling well...two nights in a row.

Monday, November 16, 2015

11.16.15

My entire day from 8am to 4pm was spent on my couches. I woke up feeling dizzy and had to stay as still as possible most of the day. Thankfully I had a day off today but so much for being productive like I had planned!  I was very glad when it finally started to subside in the late afternoon.

Sunday, November 15, 2015

11.15.15

Today was FINALLY the long awaited day of my local craft sale with Kristin and Jackie (and Jackie's daughter). It was very successful for all of us and I felt the love from family and friends and even strangers who came by! A great afternoon for sure!

Saturday, November 14, 2015

11.14.15

This fall has been the best one I can remember, weather-wise. And this kid? Pretty amazing too!

Friday, November 13, 2015

11.13.15

The girls are holding thank you magnets in the shape of Florida as reminders to pray for our best friends who will be adopting a baby boy from there when he is born at the end of January. We went to a fundraiser supper for them tonight and I was so proud of the girls and their generous hearts as they each gave a big donation from their own money.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

11.12.15

Chilling before bed, watching TV. I just love how much we enjoy spending time in the basement now that it's (almost) finished. So much more livable space. Should've done this years ago!