Thursday, July 31, 2014

7.31.14

This time the "rest" was only 2 days before the "repeat". 

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

7.30.14

"I made this for you, Mom. It's me and you."

Oh, sweet Malia.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

7.29.14

Malia and Dad playing thumb wars at the hospital while we wait for the doctor to stitch up Malia's finger that she slammed in the door at Grandma's house tonight. This was one of the rare moments where we distracted her enough that she appears relatively calm. It was a traumatic experience for her and so hard to watch your child in pain when you are helpless to so anything.

Monday, July 28, 2014

7.28.14

After a much too long hiatus, these feet finally made it back into my running shoes. 

Sunday, July 27, 2014

7.27.14

Fact #1: Sleeping in a fancy camper is way better than sleeping in a tent (thanks mom and dad-in-law for sharing your space).

Fact #2: Sleeping in my own bed is way better yet.

Happy to be home from camping this weekend.

Saturday, July 26, 2014

7.26.14

Keeping warm by the fire on this cloudy and c-c-cold evening.

Friday, July 25, 2014

Thursday, July 24, 2014

7.24.14

Today Joelle added a new page to her book of independence. She walked across town with a friend to shop at the thrift store and get treats at the Co-Op. All by themselves. She felt pretty grown up!

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

7.22.14

It was a perfect day to spend with cousins at the pool today!

Monday, July 21, 2014

7.21.14

Date night tonight consisted of supper at Montana's and shopping at Wal-Mart. Nothing glamorous, but some much needed time to forget about real life and just enjoy each other's company.

Sunday, July 20, 2014

7.20.14

Thanks to an annual father/daughter camping tradition, I had the most blissful, quiet weekend alone. I'm glad to have time to myself, and I'm just as happy to have a husband who spends such quality time with his girls.

Saturday, July 19, 2014

7.19.14

This afternoon I did something I've always wanted to do...go to a movie by myself! It was fun and I'd gladly do it again.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014

7.17.14

Who knew watching a fence being built would be so entertaining to an 8 year old!?

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

7.16.14

Oh, the royal spa treatment with make-up and massages. Joelle treated Les while Malia treated me. 

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

7.15.14

An expansion of yesterday's picture...because my life is all about the berries these days.

Or at least it's the part of my life that I am free to post about anyway.

Onward and upward...

Monday, July 14, 2014

7.14.14

Fresh strawberries are a little piece of heaven.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

7.13.14

I don't get asked very often to do my girls' hair anymore...especially not my oldest. It was a request I was more than happy to oblige this morning!

Saturday, July 12, 2014

7.12.14

Homemade poutine for supper tonight...drool!

Friday, July 11, 2014

7.11.14

The ride home from camp this evening after picking up Malia from her 5 day/4 night stint made me smile. This child sure does add a lot to our lives and the house was very quiet without her. The ride home was full of the regular noise that we are used to when she is around. It was music to my ears.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

7.10.14

Today Joelle and I had a special mother/daughter day. It started off boring as she had to come along while I cleaned a client's house, but then the fun began! We grabbed a small lunch since we knew we would be having popcorn and pop later in the afternoon (and discovered that two people can have lunch at McDonald's for $6.28 if you order off of the McValue menu...and just have water).

We did some shopping for a couple of hours before going to see How to Train Your Dragon 2 (where we consumed the aforementioned snacks) and after running a couple of errands, we went to Boston Pizza for supper, where we ended up running into good friends, so we joined them at their table.

We are capping off our special day with a sleepover in Joelle's room. 

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

7.9.14

Sometimes the highlight of the day is a good hair day. 

But today the #1 highlight was actually the drawn out hug/snuggle with my 4 year old niece...I just don't have a picture of that special moment!

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

7.8.14

I stole this picture from a friend's Instagram feed cause it's awesome...and cause I didn't have any pictures of my own for today!

Hanging out at our friends' strawberry farm is one of the girls' favorite things to do. Malia will be sad she missed out on this while away at camp...hopefully we can make it back there one more time with her before the season ends.

Monday, July 7, 2014

7.7.14

I dropped this beauty off at camp today...her first time going for FOUR nights instead of two. And her first time going to this particular camp. She did better at drop-off than she has in the past, and for that I'm grateful! Hoping she is sleeping peacefully tonight as her homesickness will definitely kick in at bedtimes.

Sunday, July 6, 2014

7.6.14

Today we were at a birthday party for my younger niece who turned 1. What a princess indeed!

Saturday, July 5, 2014

7.5.14

Time spent with dear friends today was long overdue. 

Friday, July 4, 2014

7.4.14

These two are camping out in the yard tonight...while me and Joelle stay comfortable indoors!

Thursday, July 3, 2014

7.3.14

Today would've been a good day to lounge outside by a pool. Oh wait...that's exactly what I did! And once I got too hot, I jumped in to cool off.

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

7.1.14

After too many days of being cooped up, not doing much of anything due to rainy weather, we took the kids mini golfing this evening...of course right as things started clearing up!